What is Communities for a Lifetime?

Communities for a Lifetime (CFAL) is a statewide program initiated by the Florida Department of Elder Affairs. It aims to create a safe and nurturing place for people of all ages, especially older adults. CFAL helps cities, towns and counties improve the lives of all residents. The process involves continuous assessment and improvement. One of its goals is sustaining a spirit of community.

To learn more about CFAL in Florida, click here

Why CFAL Is Needed

America is growing older. By 2020, the number of people age 65 and older will increase by a third and people from age 50 to 64 by 21 percent. Making places more livable will help people stay independent longer.

CFAL communities draw on existing resources and state technical assistance in building local partnerships that improve:

  • Housing
  • Transportation
  • Health care
  • Accessibility to public spaces
  • Education
  • Social activities
  • Business partnerships
  • Community education
  • Use of natural resources
  • Volunteer opportunities

The process involves several steps. At first, community partners gather information about opportunities, programs and services for older adults. Next, they determine what is needed to become more elder friendly. Then they develop a plan to enhance life for people of all ages.

Central Florida CFAL Communities

Since 2000, more than 100 Florida communities have made a commitment to creating a better place for people of all ages to live. In Central Florida, these include:

  • Brevard, Orange, Osceola, Lake, Seminole, and Volusia counties
  • The Orange County municipalities of Maitland, Oakland, Ocoee, Orlando, Windermere, Winter Garden and Winter Park
  • St. Cloud in Osceola County
  • Casselberry, Lake Mary, Oviedo, Sanford, and Winter Springs in Seminole County
  • Brevard County and all of its municipalities

The City of Cocoa was recently recognized as the 100th Community for a Lifetime in Florida. In addition, Brevard County received recognition as the first county in the state in which all of its municipalities are Communities for a Lifetime. To view an article about Brevard County’s distinction and their recent honor, click here.

Oviedo: How One City is Making Itself a Community for a Lifetime

The City of Oviedo declared itself a Community for a Lifetime (CFAL) in 2004. It became the first city in Seminole County to commit to developing into an elder-friendly community. About 3,000 adults aged 60+ live in Oviedo, about 10 percent of the population.

To learn more about how Oviedo is becoming a CFAL, click here